The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home

Although I love exercise, I’m not a fan going to the gym. I’ve been working out at home for years, and it works for me. Will it work for you? Find out!

Follow my blog and join me on a health and fitness journey

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Click to tweet this post

Why I don’t go to the gym

When I decided to start working out, I was 50 pounds overweight and I felt extremely self-conscious. I hated the idea of going to a gym where everyone could see my fat rolls jiggling. I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s ever felt that way!

I also didn’t have appropriate workout gear. I only had a couple of old shorts and a few old t-shirts. At the time, I couldn’t afford better workout clothes, so I didn’t want to anyone to see me in a ripped t-shirt which fit a little too tightly.

What’s more, I couldn’t bear the thought of having to use a sweaty machine. And don’t get me started on the gym shower floors! The thought of going to the gym seemed to bring out the germaphobe in me.

Finally, the real obstacles keeping me away from the gym were my kids, my time, and my lack of money. There are no gyms with day-care facilities in my area, and I didn’t have anywhere I could drop off the kids while I was at the gym.

Plus, due to the long commutes in the city, I would have to set aside more than hour of my time just to get a short workout in. And to top it all off, most of the gym memberships available were way out of my budget.

In light of all this, I decided to work out at home.

The pros and cons of working out at home

Working out at home has a lot of advantages for me, but there are disadvantages too. To be honest, it might not work for everyone.

If you’re not sure whether you should get a gym membership or set up a home gym, you should consider the following:

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Pro- Privacy

You can be sure no one will be looking at your fat rolls when you’re exercising at home. You can grunt, sweat, or curse your luck and no one will know. There won’t be any body shaming here!

Con- Lack of community

You might not feel self-conscious at home, but there also won’t be anyone there to cheer you on. You also won’t have proper guidance if you work out on your own, so you might not know if you have bad form and you could injure yourself.

What you can do

In order to keep yourself motivated, you can join an online community. There are free and paid membership groups, and there are also fitness programs available so you can get the accountability and guidance you need. You could also work out with a friend or get a personal trainer to work with you at home.

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Pro- It’s free

When you’re on a tight budget, home workouts are the most convenient solution. A gym membership can be quite expensive, and not everyone can afford it.

Con- Lack of equipment and facilities

You’re obviously not going to have access to exercise machines and dumbbell sets at home. Workout equipment can be a lot more expensive than a gym membership. Also, you need space if you want to set up a home gym, and there might not be any available at home.

What you can do

If you’re just starting out, you don’t need any fancy equipment. You can just get a mat and do bodyweight workouts. A yoga ball, a set of lightweight dumbbells and resistance bands are all relatively cheap, great for all kinds of workouts, and don’t require a large storage space.

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Pro- It’s convenient

You don’t need to commute or work around a gym schedule to do exercise. At home, you can work out anytime you want, for as long as you want. You also don’t need to wait in line to use the treadmill.

Con- Distractions abound

You’re home, so your kids and your spouse are around. And your phone, and the TV, and everything else which takes your mind away from your workout.

What you can do

Set up a schedule and stick to it, just like you would if you had to go to the gym. Pick a convenient time for your workout. It could be early in the morning before everyone else gets up, or later in the evening after the kids have gone to bed, or maybe when the kids are at school. You get someone to babysit while you exercise. Remember, you have complete freedom to pick your workout schedule.

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Pro- You can work out indoors or outdoors

Working out at home doesn’t mean you have to be indoors all the time. When the weather is nice, you take your workout outside. Sometimes, I like to exercise at the playground while my kids play. It’s a win-win for us!

Con- Lack of variety

If you only work out by yourself, you could end up stuck in a rut. Fitness instructors plan their classes so that they challenge your body, and you might not be able to do that.

What you can do

You can join a free or paid online fitness program, or you can subscribe to a YouTube fitness channel. Again, you could also arrange for a personal trainer to work with you at home. Remember to change your workout routine every 3 to 4 weeks, and do something different when you hit a plateau. You could go running instead of doing home workouts, or vice versa.

The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home | Wonder Fabi

Working out at home is free and convenient, but you have to think carefully whether it will work for you or not. Exercising away from the gym requires a certain amount of discipline and self-motivation, so you should take this into consideration.

From personal experience, I can tell you it’s possible to see results by working out at home. I was able to become fit and healthy, and I also lost weight because it was easy for me to exercise without leaving the house.

Whatever the case, don’t let the obstacles keep you away from picking up a healthy habit. Your body needs daily physical activity and you can provide it, either at a gym or at home. Don’t waste this opportunity!

Do you work out at home or at the gym? Share your experience in the comments!

20 thoughts on “The Pros and Cons of Working Out at Home

  1. I work out both at home & gym! As you say both have advantages. We have a 2nd hand treadmill at home so I do my steady state cardio at home and go to the gym for higher intensity exercises to challenge myself and get variety

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’ve trained at home (garage gym) for over 20 years, mostly due to changing work-schedules and convenience, the loss of community can be a big non-starter for many but if you’re motivated and can pull together the equipment you need for your goals, it can be just as effective as a commercial facility.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post. I like working out at a gym when I can (guest membership ect) but don’t have the disposable time or money to do it all the time. Amazon prime has a ton of workout videos. It’s a great resource if working at out home and you are a member.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very useful tips Fabi! Both have advantages and disadvantages but for now, I prefer working out at home because it’s more convenient for me. However, sometimes I get distracted.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AS usual, Fabi, you nailed it with this post. I have bookmarked this post to use as a reference for my book (which I am working on this very minute–on the barriers and excuses people have for not exercising. Perfect timing I must say. In my case, I do have the time to work out at the gym and look forward to going most days. I have been known to use the 7-minute app in a pinch. Back in the day, I had a stair stepper that I used at home in the evenings, but felt too tired that late. It’s so important for people to find what works for them, knowing that their conditions could change.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great post! I am dealing with the issue right now. I have a membership at the gym, but with kids and a husband who is constantly working I can’t find time to go. We are talking about setting up a home gym. I love the setting of a gym – being away from everyone and doing my own thing, but I really just need to workout right now and I am finding it hard with our situation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I started working out after I had my baby daughter. I had not time to go to they gym either! So I grabbed an old pair of shorts, an old t-shirt, my old sneakers, and I got up early (before the kids and hubby woke up) so I could workout with a YouTube video. I’ve been getting up early to work out for years, and I lost all the baby weight. There’s always a way! Daily walks to the playground are also a great way to start.

      Like

  7. I work out at home, but I sometimes drop into a gym. I’m thinking of joining some classes too like yoga and boxing to keep things fun and work more on my toning.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Fabi, this post is exactly how I del sometimes. I enjoy the gym 100%! But there are days I want to workout from home but honestly I get so distracted… thanks for the suggestions

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have tried both in home and outside in classes. I like the classes because I feel I’m more motivated when there is someone who is leading the way. When I do work out at home which is rarely Lol, I walk, do squats and we have a cowbell weight that is great. I used to do a class kickboxing and I loved it. I just had a hard time sticker by with it and the classes were just to expensive! But I loved the activity of boxing!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve worked out at home for years now and love it so much more than going to the gym, like I used to do! I can right from my workout to getting things done around the house, cooking dinner, or hopping in the shower. When I started working out from home, that’s when I got motivated. I even became a personal trainer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

