Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge – Week 4

That’s it! I completed four entire weeks of not eating junk food! The bottom line? I’m feeling better than ever. I don’t think I want to go back to having junk again.

Follow my blog to join me on a health and fitness journey

Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge - Week 4 | Wonder Fabi

Click to tweet this post

Yes, my dear readers. I have gone four weeks without a single serving of junk food. I’ve had no chips, no fries, no takeout, no ice cream, no cookies, no white bread, no soda, no nothing.

Let me tell you this wasn’t easy. I had to fight cravings, and there were plenty. I had to put in more effort into planning my meals and snacks. I had to take the time to cook healthy dinners. I had to crack my brain sometimes to avoid quick, junk food solutions.

But I didn’t quit.

And hard as this challenge was, the results are certainly worth it. I feel better than I’ve felt in a long time.

Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge - Week 4 | Wonder Fabi

Results of the Healthy Eating Challenge

To be honest, I didn’t lose a lot of weight. Maybe just a pound or two. However, I’m not a fan of the scale, because those numbers alone don’t measure success accurately. I prefer the non-scale victories.

And I had a couple of those non-scale victories!

I lost 2 inches off my waistline. That’s a huge difference for me! My jeans feel looser, my belly is less prominent, and my clothes fit better. That alone made the whole challenge worth it.

Another win was getting rid of the bloating and the digestive issues. My stomach no longer feels blown up all the time, and I have no stomachaches. If you take a look at the first post of the Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge, you’ll see I was having a lot of trouble with those.

I’m no longer suffering from the sugar highs and lows, and that means my mood and my energy levels have greatly improved. I don’t have hunger pangs in between meals either.

Frankly, I can’t really say whether I have kicked my sugar addiction for good or not. Probably not, but this was definitely a step in the right directions. It proves I don’t need sweet treats in my life. 

Healthy Eating Challenge | Wonder Fabi

What’s Next After the Healthy Eating Challenge

So now that the challenge is over, does that mean I get to eat junk food again?

No.

I’m not sure my sugar addiction is gone, but one thing I’m sure is that I don’t want to eat junk anymore. I no longer want to eat cookies and sundaes on the weekend or on any other day. I no longer feel the need to snack on chips or salty crisps. I feel liberated.

But most important of all is that I no longer feel like I’m missing out on something if I can’t have junk. I don’t feel like I need to indulge to have a good weekend or to feel happy. I don’t look forward to having a sweet or salty treat. I don’t feel like I deserve it, or like I should have it. 

I don’t need junk food in my life anymore.

That’s what I think is the biggest victory of all after completing this challenge. I kicked the junk out of my life!

So am I going to continue eating healthy? You bet I am!

Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge - Week 4 | Wonder Fabi

Thank you

Thanks a lot for following me on this challenge and for helping me crush it. If you joined in the challenge, I hope you’re feeling as great as I am. If you didn’t I hope this will inspire you to live a healthier life. 

It only takes a small step in the right direction to start moving forward.

Please share your thoughts on this challenge in the comments. I’d love to hear about the healthy eating goals that you’ve accomplished!

15 thoughts on “Simple and Effective Healthy Eating Challenge – Week 4

  1. Being in CONTROL adds such quality to life. Being able to LIVE rather than worry about complications caused by “junk food” is so much less STRESSFUL. Why don’t you share what you did when the cravings kicked in during the 4 week challenge. People are always looking for ideas to get them beyond their cravings.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for referring me back to that post. One thing I would add (if you don’t mind) is to determine the amount of time between meals. You already mention the food types in your article. Sometimes we need to increase the frequency of eating to thwart the craving pains. Keeping blood sugar stable will often help this process.

    Keep up the great work.

    Like

  3. Fabiola, I LOVE this idea so much. I would really really like to try it but fear I do lack the self control. Then again, we never know until we push ourselves do we? I have a real sweet tooth and know I could eat so much better than I do. Maybe if I did it with the “one day at a time” mindset…But well done to you! Really! This is quite an accomplishment, especially in our world today where so much of food is just not really good for us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a sweet tooth! And it’s been really difficult to stay away from the sweet stuff, but it does get easier with time. The one-day-at-a-time mindset does work. If I can do it, you can too! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

