Why You Should Be Grateful For That Sweaty Workout

Working out isn’t always the easiest thing to do. You have to wake up early, drag yourself to the gym, and endure that sweaty and uncomfortable feeling for a good long while. Definitely not easy! On the other hand, working out is a privilege that you should feel grateful for.  Have you ever thought about this?

Subscribe and join me on a health and fitness journey!

Why You Should Be Grateful For That Workout | Wonder Fabi

Click to tweet this post

Exercise is truly not the easiest habit to pick up. Believe me, I know. Despite being seriously overweight, it took me years before I finally decided to start working out.

And even then, I had to struggle constantly to keep myself from giving up, because working out usually means being uncomfortable. It was uncomfortable to get up at 5:00am to work out before I had to get the kids and myself ready for work and school. It was uncomfortable to hop, jump, lift, and push myself up after so many years of sitting on the couch. It was awfully hot, sweaty, and uncomfortable.

But I didn’t give up. I kept going because no matter how sore and sweaty I felt, it was even worse to feel so unhealthy. I couldn’t play with my kids without getting winded. I couldn’t walk up a flight of stairs without some serious effort. I couldn’t even look at myself in the mirror.

Why you should be grateful for that sweaty workout

I don’t know whose quote this is, but it says exactly what I feel about working out today.

Why You Should Be Grateful For That Workout | Wonder Fabi

I lost 50 pounds through healthy diet and exercise, and it was the hardest thing I have ever done. It meant doing many difficult and uncomfortable things, but it was worth it every step of the way.

I am now fitter and healthier than ever. I can run, jump, and chase my kids without a problem. I can do all sorts of physical activities effortlessly, and I appreciate my body in a way I had never experienced before.

However, there are people out there who can’t do all these things. Maybe they can’t because their back and knees are injured. Or maybe they have a chronic illness. Or perhaps they’re bedridden and are unable to get up even though they wish they could.

But I’m healthy enough to workout. I can get up everyday and be sweaty and uncomfortable, and I can feel sore the next day and I know it’s because I can work my muscles.

And I’m very grateful for that.

Working out is a privilege denied to many, so be grateful that you can do it. Even if you’ve spent years sitting on the couch, like I did, get up and start moving today before it’s too late.

Be grateful you have the choice to workout, and then make the choice. You’ll never regret it.

How are you grateful for your body and/or your physical abilities? Share your thoughts in the comments!

10 thoughts on “Why You Should Be Grateful For That Sweaty Workout

  1. Being active is so important for overall health. I’ve always been, and when I started gaining weight due to Midlife hormones, etc, it started to affect my joints, which hampered my workouts and health. Using weight watchers to lose 26 pounds so far was like taking 60 pounds off my knees and feet. Glad to hear you have lost so much weight and can feel better. Informative and inspirational post, Fabi 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

