How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup

You need to eat more veggies, there’s just no way around it. If you want to be healthy and fit, you need to have at least one serving of produce in every meal. To be honest, that’s much easier said than done. How is one supposed to eat that many veggies? Well, I have one yummy option for you.

Subscribe to join me on a health and fitness journey

Click to tweet this post

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

The Problem With Veggies

In order to lose 50 pounds after my last pregnancy, I had to get on the veggie bandwagon. I threw out all the junk food in my kitchen and replaced it with fresh veggies and fruit. And you know what I realized? It’s really hard to eat produce all the time.

Sure, I have a veggie smoothie nearly everyday, and I also have salads, roasted veggies, and veggie soup. I have fruit if I want a sweet treat. I’ve replaced rice with cauliflower and I make tuna sandwiches with cucumbers.

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

But to tell you the truth, sometimes I just can’t stand eating another salad. There, I’ve said it. Unfortunately, if I want to stay on the healthy path, I can’t just give up on veggies. So what am I to do? Come up with a new way to have my veggies, of course!

Since I had already posted about a healthy muffin in a cup and a chocolate muffin in a cup, it only seemed logical that I would post about making something with veggies in cup, right?

So, here it is. My recipe for making some quick, yummy veggies in a cup!

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal flour or ground flaxseed
  • 1/4 cup of almond milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 cup of whatever chopped, cooked veggies you like or have on hand
  • Dash of salt
  • Optional: 1 tablespoon of chia seeds

Directions

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

  1. If you’re going to use chia seeds, let them soak in the almond milk for 10 or 15 minutes.
  2. Then, blend together the milk (with or without chia seeds), egg, oatmeal flour, baking powder, salt.
  3. Next, pour the mixture into a greased cup and pop in the microwave for 30 seconds.
  4. After that, take out the cup the spoon the veggies into the mixture. This is so the mixture will thicken enough to evenly cover the veggies. Otherwise, they’ll just sink to the bottom.
  5. Finally, put the cup back into the microwave oven and cook for about 2 minutes.
  6. Make sure the muffin is cooked through and let cool before serving.

There! How easy was that?

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

You can use this little veggie muffin to substitute white bread and dinner rolls. How about that?

Why I Love This Recipe

  • Because it’s yummy.
  • Because it’s not a salad.
  • Because I can have one whole serving of veggies.
  • Because I don’t have to turn on the oven, although I think I could make several of these in muffin cups to make them fancier.
  • Because I can chop my own veggies or use frozen ones.
  • Because I can have this for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
  • This one is definitely going into the “Veggie” section of my recipe box!

Just for the record, I don’t plan to give up on green smoothies and salads, but it’s nice to know there’s other options available. Don’t you agree?

How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup | Wonder Fabi

Try this recipe and tell me how you liked it!

What’s your favorite way to have veggies?

15 thoughts on “How To Make Quick Yummy Veggies In A Cup

  1. I have never made anything in a cup in the microwave before. I got to try this. I wonder my teens and boyfriend eat it. If not, it is a small enough portion for just me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! I’ve become a fan of making things in a cup because I it saves me time, and it’s like you say – if nobody else likes it, then it’s just enough for me to enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

